AFRITAC West was set up in 2003 in Bamako and was transferred to Abidjan, Côte d’Ivoire, in the middle of 2012. It covers the following countries: Benin, Burkina, Côte d’Ivoire, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Senegal and Togo.

Since 2012, AFRITAC has worked to assist WAMU with the development of the sub-regional public debt securities market.

Agence UMOA-Titres (AUT) has sought support from AFRITAC West to help it become operational as quickly as possible. The assistance provided by the Center focuses on strengthening the legal and regulatory framework within which the Agency will be operating, defining public securities issuance policy, and setting up selection and promotion procedures for Primary Dealers.